top of page

Mrs. Jackie Gboyah - Bush

National Social Secretary


Phone: 678-410-7223

Mr. John Hammond

Co-Chairman, Convention 2018


Phone: 240-535-1419.

January 30, 2018

Dear Tigers! 

Thank you for agreeing to help coordinate the upcoming Convention 2018 scheduled for Friday, June 29 to Sunday, July 1, 2018.

Conventions are a time to catch up with old friends and alumni, as well as connect Alumni with their Alma Mater.  Your role as a planning member of Convention 2018 is an important one and vital to the success of our Conventions. The Desired Outcome of the Convention is to provide exciting and engaging organized activities for the Convention that will help strengthen relationships between alumni and Booker Washington Institute.

You will find in your attachment a term of reference for each Convention Committee as per the Convention Guidelines. We have further broken it down to include description, tasks, convention theme, budget, committee members and monthly status report that may assist you in reaching the vision of Convention 2018. Convention 2018 is dedicated to the decade of the 80’s. We need to make sure that we include this group on the committee. We all are anxious to listen to the music, watch you dress in the 80’s attires, listen to jokes and stories of the 80’s. Program Committee let it happen!

All persons serving on committees are encourage to collaborate with others on other committees.   Each Convention Committee Chair may elect to recruit additional Committee members as deem necessary. All discussions and finalization of content will occur at the committee’s level with updates on a bi- weekly basis to both the Chairman and Co-Chairman respectively. We have a general planning meeting once a month in which all planning committee member are ask to participate. Our desire is to complete approximately 90% of all the listed tasks within 60 days. BWI is the best and so are you! Always remember the symbol of Booker Washington Institute: The Head, Heart and Hands – that is a recipe for success.

Additionally, we have added the Convention Activities, the Convention Announcement, Procurement Form, Meeting Minutes, Advertiser/Sponsor Letter Template, Letter from the President Letterhead and Letter to solicit Funds from Businesses for your use. You may create other templates that are applicable to the Convention use.

Save these dates on your calendar  lookout for the following General Planning Meetings:

Saturday, February 17, 2018.  

Saturdays, March 17, 2018

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Saturday, May 19, 2018

Saturday, June 16, 2018.


If there is a need to add meeting date, we will let you know after the March meeting.


Clink on the Links Below for Committee Details

Anchor 1

Program Committee

Emmett Fiawoo   - Chairperson
Sebastian Teclar - Local President

Irene Fiawoo       - Member

David Karngba    - Member

Jonathan Arthur  - Publicity Chair

Publicity Committee

Jonathan Arthur   - Chairperson
Josephine Isaac   - Co-Chair

Sophie Kura         - Member

David Karngba     - Member

Emmett Fiawoo    - Member

Daniel Kieh           - Chairperson
Sebastian Teclar   - Local President

Sarah Lawrence   - Member

Hospitality Committee

Daniel Kieh         - Chairperson
Ada Williams       - Co-Chair

Sebastian Teclar - Local President

Irene Fiawoo       - Member

James Williams   - Member

Sarah Lawrence  - Member

Albertine Dennis  - Member

Simmond Sayeh  - Member

Keaba Sayeh       - Member

Christian King      - Members

Financial Committee

Will Jallah           - Chairperson
Sebastian Teclar - Local President

Josephine Isaac  - Member

David Karngba    - Member

Daniel Kieh         - Member

Transportation Committee

Lasana Milton        - Chairperson
John Mawolo         - Co-Chair

Alfonso Johnson    - Member

Amos manneh       - Member

Joseph Newman    - Member

Souvenir Committee

Josephine Isaac  - Chairperson

Jonathan Arthur   - Co-Chairperson

Sophie Kura         - Member

David Karngba     - Member

Emmett Fiawoo    - Member

Daniel Kieh           - Chairperson
Sebastian Teclar   - Local President

Sarah Lawrence   - Member

bottom of page